Savior Quiz Logo

How Do I Become a Certified Health Data Analyst (CHDA? Education & Career

Certified Health Data Analyst

Certified Health Data Analyst (CHDA®) 

Individuals who earn the CHDA designation will achieve recognition of their expertise in health data analysis and validation of their mastery of this domain. This certification provides practitioners with the knowledge to acquire, manage, analyze, interpret, and transform data into accurate, consistent, and timely information, while balancing the “big picture” strategic vision with day-to-day details.  

CHDA-credentialed professionals exhibit broad organizational knowledge and the ability to communicate with individuals and groups at multiple levels, both internal and external.

Online Proctored Exam Now Available

Candidates will now have the choice to take their certification exam at a Pearson VUE authorized test center, or online with OnVUE in the comfort of their home. Visit our webpage to learn more about remote exam test taking. 


Eligibility Requirements

Candidates must meet one of the following eligibility requirements to sit for the CHDA examination: 

  • Hold an RHIT® or RHIA® credential; or 
  • Bachelor’s degree or higher degree from an accredited college or university 

While not required, the following are recommended: 

  • Minimum of 3 years of healthcare data experience 
  • Experience in data acquisition, data analysis, data management, data interpretation and reporting, and data governance

Apply for the Exam

About the CHDA Exam

Certified Professionals and Pass Rates 

As of 12/31/2022, there were 333 certified CHDA professionals.

Year  Exam  # First Time Testers  Pass Rate First Time Testers 
2022*  CHDA  38 50% 
2021*  CHDA  77  14% 
2020*  CHDA  67 7% 

*U.S. and Canada results only 

Exam Specifications 

The CHDA is a timed exam. Candidates have 3.5 hours to complete the exam. The total number of questions on the exam range between 130 and 160 total items.  

AHIMA exams contain a variety of questions or item types that require you to use your knowledge, skills, and/or experience to select the best answer. Each exam includes scored questions and pretest questions randomly distributed throughout the exam. Pretest questions are not counted in the final results. 

The passing score for the CHDA is 300. 

The exam is given in a computer-based format. Competencies for CHDAs fall into five domains. Each domain accounts for a specific percentage of the total questions on the certification exam. See the Exam Content Outline below for greater detail. 

Leave a Comment